The cornerstone for Raya University was laid on February 15, 2015 in Maichew, South Tigray. Maichew is located in Northern Ethiopia, at a distance of 668 Kilometers from the Ethiopian capital. Raya University established by the Government of Ethiopia (Council of Ministers, Regulations No. 357/2016) as an autonomous higher education institution. The university has started its construction on June 7, 2016. Seventy five percent of the construction is completed in the mid of March 2017. Eighty eight point fifty one percent (88.51%) of the construction is completed in May 2017. The first phase construction will be completed before July 7, 2017. All necessary preparations are underway to enroll 1500 students in October 2017. Five colleges and 22 departments will be established. The five colleges are: College of Natural and Computational Sciences (CNCS), Agriculture College (CA), College of Business and Economics (CBE), Colleges Social Sciences (CSS) and College of Engineering (EC).

By 2030, Raya University aspires to be one of the top ten ranked public universities in Ethiopia. By 2030, Raya...
Read More
Message of PresidentMessage of President
Raya University, located in the capital of Southern Zone of Tigray Region, is one among the newly established fourth generation...
Read More
Train and produce competent, innovative and well equipped professionals with knowledge, skill, attitude and ethics to contribute to the development...
Read More